Skip to main content
The Women’s and Children’s Health Network acknowledges Aboriginal people as the First Peoples and Traditional Custodians of Country throughout South Australia. We acknowledge and respect their ongoing and deep spiritual connection and relationship to land, air, sea, waters, community and country. We pay our respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.

The Women’s and Children’s Health Network (WCHN) is proud to celebrate the achievements of staff, volunteers and consumer advocates across our organisation with the annual Excellence Awards.

The annual Women’s and Children’s Health Network Excellence Awards 2023 celebrates the excellence, hard work, innovation and leadership shown across our Network’s various sites, services, disciplines and divisions.

From over 60 nominations, 30 finalists were chosen, with 11 awards presented at a ceremony held on Friday 11 August at the Adelaide Convention Centre.


The awards night was made possible by the support of our key charity partner, the Women’s and Children’s Hospital Foundation, along with Police Credit Union and Bowden Print Group.


The Categories for the 2023 Awards are listed below. Click on the links for information on the finalists and winners.

The Enhancing Hospital Care Award

  • WINNER: Burns Digital Referral Service
  • Naso-Alveolar Moulding Service
  • The Gender Diversity Service Multidisciplinary Team

The Excellence in Non-Clinical Services Award

  • WINNER: Staff Wellbeing in the NICU
  • Knitting for Wellbeing for Patients with Eating Disorders
  • Management and Leadership Development Program

The Improving Safety and Quality Award

  • WINNER: FAAIRI (Fast Advice and Access for Intravenous Routes with Imaging) Service
  • Central Venous Access Device – Consumer Education
  • Women's Physiotherapy – Management of Persistent Pelvic Pain

The Research and Innovation Award

  • WINNER: Dr Amit Kochar
  • Associate Professor Amy Keir
  • Professor Jodie Dodd

The Out of Hospital Strategies and Care Award

  • WINNER: HENNS in the Community
  • The WCH Foundation Cocoon Program
  • CAMHS Paediatric Eating Disorder Service

The Excellence In Community Services Award

  • WINNER: CaFHS Oaklands Park Leading Change Team
  • Michel Wyman - Young Parents Program
  • WCH Foundation Laklinyeri Beach House

The Excellence and Innovation in Aboriginal Health Award

  • WINNER: Forensic CAMHS Cultural Programs
  • Hearing the voice of our Aboriginal Consumers
  • Taikurrinthi - Aboriginal Liaison Unit

The Excellence In Consumer Partnerships Award

  • WINNER: Partnership between WCHN and AWFOSA
  • Consumer and Communications Working Group
  • Leanne Norman – Helen Mayo House

The Young Professional of the Year Award

  • WINNER: Jack Noonan
  • Charlotte Groves
  • Marnie O'Meara

The CREATE Award

  • WINNER: Di Smith-McCue
  • Forensic Medical Team - Child Protection Services
  • Kory Horwood

The CEO Award for Excellence in Healthcare

  • WINNER: WCH Foundation Laklinyeri Beach House

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination and for demonstrating excellence in your practice and leading the way for our health network’s future.